Products I’ve Used Up | Urban Decay & DermaV10

Hello everyone,

I’m so sorry I’ve been so absent from the wordpress world the past while. I’m currently writing a thesis for my studies, and it’s really taken me away from blogging. I will be trying my best to keep posts coming, and I apologise for the lack of a schedule. I know it can be frustrating. However, I am very active on Instagram, so if you want to follow me there my username is mirrorthelove (of course).

Now, without further ado, I have a post with some items that I’ve used up over the past month!

UDMascara

I’ve been on a break from spending, which has given me a great chance to use up the ends of products and to rummage through my collection and really see what I have and what I genuinely need to get! My plan is to clear my collection as much as possible, and I have also been switching to more natural, chemical-free skincare routines, which I will definitely post about asap! Within my collection, I had this mascara. First and foremost, I strongly recommend against keeping mascaras after a few months. Eye infections can be excruciating and a right nuisance, so it’s really not worth the risk. With that said, I never spend big sums on mascaras and this was an exception that I sort of look back and think “what was I thinking?!” At €27-ish, this Urban Decay mascara was nice, but certainly not worth the hefty price tag. That said, I do like brushes like this, as I find they reach every lash and are a lot easier to work with, avoiding lid smears and the like.

Mascara Wand

But, unfortunately as Urban Decay have now been bought by a non-cruelty-free company, I refuse to support them anymore. Urban Decay is no longer cruelty free… Yep, that’s right, the company that proudly wore their leaping bunny logo has now sold out and it owned by a parent company that still, in 2015, thinks it’s necessary to use animals as test subjects for cosmetics. Hopefully losing a few customers will make them rethink their decision.

This next product is one I was really surprised by! Cleansing wipes by DermaV10 (paraben-free, cruelty-free!). Although the packet label says €2, I actually got two packets for €2 (they were stuck together), so at €1 each I wasn’t expecting a huge amount. They really proved me wrong!

FaceWipes

At first I was using them at night on days when I hadn’t worn make up, just to refresh and cleanse before bed. Then I decided to give them a try on foundation. They cleared it all! Okay, it did take two or three wipes (as with any), but they did the job and they smelled so fresh and clean! The only issue I had was that I stupidly put them on my eye make-up, and they made my eyes a bit tender, but that was my own mistake. It explicitly says not for sensitive skin, which my eyes definitely are so lesson learned!

IMG_1869

My other minor fault was that the bag stopped resealing after a few times, so they did start to dry out a bit. In future, I will put them in a plastic container myself when I buy them (tip: old plastic take-out dishes can be ideal or Tupperware!) Either way, I will definitely repurchase them.

  IMG_1870

Have you tried either of these products? What do you think about UD being sold on? Are you as disappointed as me?

~ MTL

Email: mirrorthelove@gmail.com

http://www.instagram.com/mirrorthelove

2 thoughts on “Products I’ve Used Up | Urban Decay & DermaV10

    • mirrorthelove says:

      I am completely hooked, I have to say. I know the moisturiser said it was made in Canada, so I thought the whole line was, but I think they’re from the UK. Hopefully they’ll get over there eventually, or maybe there’s an equivalent?

      Like

Leave a Reply

