Organic Exfoliate: Voya Skincare

Voya

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know that I usually post about items on the lower price scale. I know that I certainly can’t afford to splash out on cosmetics often, and I would guess that at least some of you are the same way. With that said, a while ago I attended a promotional evening for the local day-spa here. All their customers were invited, so of course I was itching to go! On arrival we each received a goodie-bag and in mine I got this exfoliator – Voya “Time To Shine Body Buff” (usually retails for €29 / $31-ish).

As you might already know, I’m picky when it comes to exfoliating. The plastic micro-beads that are often used in exfoliates (listed as polyethlyene in the ingredients) are extremely dangerous for our environment. Not only are they killing sea-life, these beads are so tiny that they are slipping back into our drinking water. I have a previous post all about this here. Well, I’m glad to report that Voyas product are certified organic, paraben-free, cruelty-free and plastic-free! In fact, it is an Irish company that bases its product around the idea of seaweed baths.

While this product is expensive, and frankly, outside my price range usually, it is a beautiful one. With a nutty type exfoliate, it really does clear away the dead skin cells and feels very comparable to “Buffy The Backside Slayer” by Lush (my all-time favourite). I particularly enjoyed using it before and after shaving my legs to avoid in-grown hairs and general discomfort in the days after shaving when the skin can feel very dry and sensitive. It also worked a treat before applying fake-tan, if you’re like me and prefer to fake-bake.

* Note: The scent of this product has changed since I received my sample, so I cannot comment on the new ginger and sweet orange.

Have you tried this product? What is your favourite exfoliator?

Avril ~ mirrorthelove@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “Organic Exfoliate: Voya Skincare

Leave a Reply

