Day 16: April Blogging Challenge

Day 16: Fears & Phobias

I think it goes without saying that losing my loved ones is my biggest fear in the world, and I don’t even want to think about it. Instead, I’m going to post some more “light-hearted” or unusual phobias that I have…

1. Lakes / Murky Water

Even if I turn the page of a National Geographic and there’s a murky underwater shot on the next page, it gives me the shivers. It doesn’t make sense because I’m an avid swimmer, but the thought of what could be lurking in the depths gives me chills to the core. Lakes always seem a particularly murky spot. When I was a kid, I went on a camp that involved a lot of lake-time. We were told there were eels in the lake that would bite… I think that contributed to this phobia.

‘Finding Nemo’

2. Accidentally Sending Emails/Texts To The Wrong Person

I am constantly living in fear of sending my academic supervisor an email ending with an ‘x’.

3. Accidentally Liking A Facebook Photo While Creeping

I once accidentally tagged myself in the photo of an acquaintance, while creeping on their page. To make matters worse, I wasn’t actually in the photo and the person I accidentally clicked to tag as me was them. To say I nearly threw my laptop out the window is an understatement. They won’t know so long as I blocked them, right?…… Don’t look at me like that, you do it too!

What are your more unusual fears or phobias? Any social media related ones?

~ mirrorthelove@gmail.com

10 thoughts on “Day 16: April Blogging Challenge

  1. stashmatters says:

    Haha, your text one reminds me of one I did not long ago. A friend of mine moved away and sent out a mass text msg to say she’s arrived at her new place and is in the midst of house hunting. For some inexplicable reason, I decided to reply with “Pics or it didn’t happen” and for some other unknown reason, this text msg sent out to ALL on her distribution list. I spent the next hour explaining to her family and coworkers that I’m not a creep. 😡

    I try to spend as little time on Facebook as possible – it’s a black hole of time and breeds unjustified envy.

    Well, I already posted about my irrational phobia of candles depleting oxygen in my BBW Wallflowers.

    I have a phobia of hitting my head on wall mounted fire extinguishers. I know, it’s very specific and very odd. I just imagine it would hurt a lot.

    Like

  2. mirrorthelove says:

    I actually laughed out loud at your text story. That is exactly something I could imagine happening to me. I am always afraid I’ll sign academic messages with kisses or some sort of affectionate. I also have this bizarre fear of subconsciously typing profanities into my assignments, and submitting them without reading. Or like, meaning to be writing a personal email but bits go into my assignments. I swear, I get the major fear when submitting stuff for that reason.

    You’re SO right about facebook. I have it now because I need to use it for college (random, but I’m recruiting for research through it…) but as soon as I’m done with that, I’ll probably delete it. I’ve learned not to look around on strangers pages anyway! Hahah! I just concentrate on my own page and the only people I follow on my news feed are close friends or environmental organisations really. I also don’t add anyone I wouldn’t want to speak to in person.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mirrorthelove says:

      I can absolutely relate to that. I really just posted about “fun” fears on here because I didn’t want to get too serious, but I really do understand that. I particularly fear stuff like, going “backwards” in life.. going back into bad periods and stuff, you know? x

      Like

  3. Style Domination says:

    LOL! Great post!! I’m afraid of deep water. I’m not the strongest swimmer so I get scared when my feet can’t touch the ground. I also hate bugs…especially maggots (utterly disgusting), ants (especially tons of them on an ant hill – can’t look at that), and anything large that flies (we have June bugs here in Canada…just disgusting. They fly poorly like they are drunk, and always smash into you. BLECH!!!).

    Like

    • mirrorthelove says:

      Oh Lord! I had to look up a June bug. I most definitely do not want one of them flying into my face!! I just thought of another “fear” of mine… getting pooped on by birds! If they fly over me, for some ridiculous reason I’ll duck..as if that’ll do anything to protect me! On my college campus there are always lots of birds and I just know some day I’ll get targetted! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. shopgirlanonymous says:

    I had an ex who was also deathly afraid of any images of underwater. Even on the classic Super Mario brothers on NES he was unable to handle the underwater scenes without going into complete panic. Now my daughter (who is two) finds no movie more terrifying than Finding Nemo…the entirety of the movie. She can watch her father play Diablo, but Nemo is just pushing it too far I suppose.

    Like

    • mirrorthelove says:

      It’s so bizarre how these fears occur. I love swimming, and I’d even swim with sharks given the chance! But it’s something about the unknown out there.. the murkiness and something just appearing suddenly. That’s adorable about your daughter though! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

