7 Sins of Beauty Tag

I know this post isn’t strictly “eco-friendly”, but I wanted to write and am not ready to publish my next product post .

So if you want to read my little “sins of beauty” tag post, here it is…

* All brands mentions are, of course, animal-cruelty free

1. GREED: What is your most inexpensive beauty item? What is your most expensive?


My most inexpensive beauty item is pretty much anything from Essence. I really don’t find it necessary to invest a whole lot into nail varnishes, mascaras, lip glosses or lip sticks, and this brand is the ideal way to get amazing quality without breaking the bank. Instead of buying one nail colour for €10, I’d far rather try a few for €1.39 each. Realistically, how often will anyone finish an entire bottle before it dries up or you tire of the colour? As a student with a lot of priority bills, I cannot justify spending excessively on these products.

My most expensive (and regret, I might add) is the the Erase Paste concealer from Benefit Cosmetics. Don’t get me wrong, Benefit has some incredible products out there, but this one just didn’t work on my skin and I cringe to think I spent €28 on such a tiny jar. While strictly speaking, I have spent more on “beauty” items like perfume and an eye shadow palette, I think from a quality for price perspective, this just didn’t cut it. Definitely learning from my younger mistakes!

2. WRATH: What beauty products do you have a love/hate relationship with? 


So I mentioned above spending more on an eye shadow palette? Well this is my love/hate relationship. The Urban Decay Naked palette. Let me start by saying that again, I am a student and spending €40 on make up really wasn’t a wise move by my younger self. I suppose that’s what kills me the most about this… I really just don’t think the cost was worth the product. Again, don’t get me wrong, I have heard amazing reviews of Urban Decay products and I actually found another of their palettes in TK Maxx for a steal, but the Naked is a bit hit/miss for me. Here’s my review of an amazing duplicate for just €7.50!
3. GLUTTONY: What are your most delicious beauty products?

The Body Shop. I swear their products smell good enough to eat… And ps: They have a sale on now! If you liked strawberry bubblegum as a kid (there was a particular brand I used to buy for 10p a piece) you will LOVE the scent of their strawberry body wash. I always crave juice after smelling their mango scents too…is that weird?


4. SLOTH: What beauty product do you neglect, due to laziness?

This is REALLY bad…but sunscreen. Okay, quick sidenote: I live in Ireland where it’s really hot about 4 days of the year, so it’s not like I’m toasting my bum on a beach without protection, but in the depths of winter I never even think of it. Extremely bad habit that I need to break out of.


5. PRIDE: What beauty product gives you the most self confidence?

I tend not to wear a lot, if any, make up on a daily basis, so I don’t feel that any in particular gives me the most self-confidence. I think we think a lot more about how we look than anyone else does and I really would hate to feel I *need* make up to leave the house. That said, I do love my perfume and having nice smooth lips, so I suppose lipbalm and perfume don’t hurt.


6. LUST: What attributes do you find most attractive in the opposite sex?


As Judge Judy says “Beauty fades. Dumb is forever”. So while physical attraction is really important, I wouldn’t say it’s all about looks. In any event, a smile…especially with dimples. *swoon*

7. ENVY: What items would you most like to receive as a gift?

It’s all about the thought. I’d rather a thoughtful, cheap handmade gift over something expensive that they just grabbed without any sentimentality. And I’m not into diamonds.

~mirrorthelove@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

